Return to the Growing Tomatoes Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Tomato Plants Healthy But Curling

Posted by john216 5 (tank21698@yahoo.com) on
Sat, Feb 22, 14 at 20:21

Hello All I'm A Beginner Here; I'm starting and indoor garden and planting and tomato and pepper plant okay here deal pepper plant looks healthy and tomato plants all are green and stems green, have good set true leaves; haven't seen any bugs; problem is their curling downwards ; now I tried raising lights up 6in anyone have idea what's going on?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Tomato Plants Healthy But Curling

Looks pretty normal to me in the pic. But tomato leaf curl is a common physical response of the plant to inconsistent soil moisture levels - usually too much followed by too little.

6" is too high for your lights if you are using fluorescents. 1-2" max. or they will get leggy.

Dave

o

I Think I have another issue az well found couple white spots on leafs not a lot might be from messed up watering is their anything I can do to fix this and yes I lowered my lights half that 3 inches ; haven't seen any bugs I brought magnifying glass

o

• Posted by digdirt 6b-7a North AR (My Page) on
    Sun, Feb 23, 14 at 10:39

Honestly, spots on a leaf can be caused by many things, most of which pose no problem for the plant. Leaves are seldom perfect.

If you see no evidence of insect pests on the underside of the leaf then I wouldn't worry about it unless they become numerous. Indoor seedlings aren't really threatened by most of the common tomato disease since they aren't exposed to causes while inside.

It could be nothing more than that your plant appears to be in a clear cup and could have some minor rootlet damage. Roots don't like being exposed to light and heat. Leaves love it, roots hate it. :)