Return to the Growing Tomatoes Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Newbie Looking For Advice

Posted by suvoth (My Page) on
Fri, Feb 28, 14 at 22:15

Hey All :)

I am extremely new to gardening (this will be my first attempt). I bought a few different seeds to plant myself and wondered if any of these need to be planted later, earlier or maybe all at the same time? I heard 6 weeks? 5? before last frost? Oh, and if I buy let's say 10 gallon containers for each..will that suffice? thanks!!

Cherokee Purple
Caspian Pink
Sweeties
Yellow Zebra
Jericho Lettuce
King of the North Peppers

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Newbie Looking For Advice

Oh, forgot to mention I live in Fredericton, NB...I think that is zone 4b?

o

Welcome ! We all start from somewhere as NEWBIE. With todays internet and sites like this , one can learn much faster than few decades ago.

WHEN TO START:
Starting from seeds has nothing to do weather a variety is EARLY, MID pr LATE season. Tomatoes are not like lettuce, beans that will have a short garden life ; They will live and fruit pretty much until the end of season. So I would start them all and plant them all as soon as possible. So 6 weeks before the last frost date is a good timing. For zone 4b, probably you have to hold on for a while. ( I don't know the date )

About container size: I personally think that !0 gal per plant is more than adequate for the largest potato plants.

Good Luck !

This post was edited by seysonn on Sat, Mar 1, 14 at 21:15

o

Thanks! So excited to try growing :D They say it's cheaper than buying from a grocery store but I am assuming everyone means after the first year of growing lol

o