Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tomandjerrygardener

Tomato Stems Breaking

Recently I planted 25 Big Daddy Tomato Hybrids this is my first year planting tomatoes. Now a week later they have mostly all sprouted. But now as they are growing some of them are dying. Their stems get all twisted and it looks like there is a kink preventing further nutrition from reaching the plant. Some of the stem is so thin that it can't support the weight and that's why the plant droops, and today one of the snapped in half. Just yesterday I gave them Finley crushed tums mixed with water,and also for the past two days it has been cloudy. Is there any way to save the plant once it snaps? no true leaves have shown there is only the cotyledons. I also tend to water irregularly and water to much. Please help!!!
-TomAndJerryGardener

Comments (7)

• Ohiofem 6a/5b Southwest Ohio
    11 years ago

It sounds like damping off. Follow the link below for good, specific advice on how to grow tomatoes from seed. Scroll down to the section on damping off if you don't know what that is. You should not be giving seedlings that haven't even grown true leaves any kind of supplements.

Here is a link that might be useful: How do I start tomatoes from seed?

• TomAndJerryGardener
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thank-you Ohiofem and when the stem breaks can I still save it and if it currently has it what can I do to save it.
    -TomAndJerryGardener

This post was edited by TomAndJerryGardener on Tue, Mar 19, 13 at 1:47

• TomAndJerryGardener
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thank-you Ohiofem and when the stem breaks can I still save it and if it currently has it what can I do to save it.
    -TomAndJerryGardener

• Ohiofem 6a/5b Southwest Ohio
    11 years ago

I don't think you can save it when the stem breaks at such an early stage. Damping off usually is a sign that your potting mix is not sterile. Seriously consider starting over using better soil and supplemental lighting.

• digdirt2