Return to the Growing Tomatoes Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Tomato Seedlings seem to be growing really slowly

Posted by nitram0606 none (My Page) on
Wed, Mar 28, 12 at 3:14

Hi everyone,

New to this forum, but have been doing several types of gardenings for years. This is my first year starting tomatos from seed, but I may be doing something wrong.

Here is a picture of part of my lot that is about 3 weeks old, maybe older, I stupidly didn't write a seed date on these guys.

Tomatoe Plants, several weeks old

They seem really small compared to other peoples tomatoes, and I uprooted one to check and the root growth seems minimal. Any input would be great.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Tomato Seedlings seem to be growing really slowly

• Posted by janezee Sunset 5, 8b, Whidbe (My Page) on
    Wed, Mar 28, 12 at 7:54

They look great to me. No problems at all.

o

They look good. Stop uprooting them. :)

o

Same discussion came up a week or so back and one of the main reasons for slow growth is over-watering. Try cutting back on your watering for several days and see if they don't kick up.

Dave

o

• Posted by Jay5 none (My Page) on
    Wed, Mar 28, 12 at 16:36

Glad this question came up.

A side question for me is about the cotyledons.

Mine have started falling off but are still green. I thought they should turn yellow first. I do have other leaves.

Also some of my leaves look wilty and a bit rolled. Some are sort of hanging over and not perked up at attention.
The soil is moist but to me not overly.

I have them about 2 inches under shop lights for 16 hours.

Over watering a likely cause?

And thanks!

o

Hard to say if your tomatoes are growing all that slowly. If so, I would bet it is your soil rather than overwatering. They don't grow if it is too heavy.

o

Over watering a likely cause?

Very much so. It also can cause cotyledons to fall off while still green because the tap root is water-logged.