Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
meneghetti

Tips for growing in pots

meneghetti
10 years ago

Hello everyone.

This is my first time growing tomatoes and it's been a very exciting journey so far as you guys can imagine.
As a first timer, one of the problems I face is not really knowing how I'm doing and what to expect from my tomato plants. I don't have a big garden, so most of my plants live in the top floor where I have south-faced window with a lot of sun during the day.

At the moment I have 20+ plants of tomatoes, all grown from seeds, most of them started between 27/01 and 10/02, all indoors (south faced window, 20+ celsius during the day and slightly colder at night).

I plan to use my balcony (15m2) to get them most of them in pots later on the year at about May (last frost is early/mid may).

The varieties I have planted are Bistecca (heirloom), Marmande (heirloom), Chipano (indeterminate), Roma VF (semi-bush), Ace 55 VF (determinate), San Marzano (indet), Bush, Tiny Tim (bush), Phillipos F1 (?), Luxor (?) and Orange Tomato (heirloom).

From what I see in several posts here, I may have started too early.
I have started some additional plants last week because I'm afraid of having started to early and end up running into problems because of that. I have no ideas whether I should be afraid or not.

So here my questions:

1) Is the 'started too early' problem a real one since I will keep them in large pots, or only if I will plant them on the ground? As I mentioned above, I have no plans to put them on the ground.

2) I haven't yet fertilised them at all, I started with potting mix and last week transplanted most of them to 7 inch pots with the thought that they could grow a bit more until I finally transplant them to the bigger pots - 10+ gallon.
Is it a problem that I haven't fertilised them yet?