Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mike63_gw

Zone 5 Starting from Seed

mike63
13 years ago

Is it too early/late to start tomatoes from seed for a Memorial Day Weekend planting? I usually buy plants but decided to be ambitious this year and throw together a little shelf with a fluorescent light and do them myself. I also read online one warm white bulb and one cool white bulb are the best way to go. Any thoughts? Thank you

Comments (14)

• tom8olvr
    13 years ago

I think it's early to start them now for Mem Day planting. I'm also Z5, MA. I'll start SOME the end of March but most April 2 for May 28th planting. Oxhearts I'll start a week later. We can talk more, if you like. I've been starting seed in the house for a few years now... oh alright, a few decades... :)

• geeboss
    13 years ago

Grow seedlings for 7 to 8 weeks and harding them off before planting outside. As Tom suggested now would be a might early to start seeds for an end of May plant out.

George

• jrslick (North Central Kansas, Zone 5B)
    13 years ago

I am planting some now for early May sales and then again in two weeks for late May sales.

Jay

• PrestonFarmer
    13 years ago

I'm 5b (central CT) and I never start before April 1. Well, actually, the first time, I started them in early March and was sorry. They got way to big to manage effectively. Remember too, that the days to maturity are from setting out, not from seed germination. I'd go with tom8olvr's suggestion.

• budge_grow
    13 years ago