Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jonathanpassey

Are these leggy?

jonathanpassey
10 years ago

This is my first year planting tomatoes from seed and I am trying 8 kinds. They came up in 4 days. The plants in this picture are 10 days old.

They seemed to get taller faster than I expected... Are they Leggy?

I am planning on moving them into super six packs... How soon should I move them?

I cant figure out how to post more than one picture. So maybe i will put another one in a reply?

I feel a little bad clogging up the forum for my personal

Comments (14)

• jonathanpassey
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Another Pic.

• jonathanpassey
    Original Author
    10 years ago

And a third.

I just realized that my first post ended mid-sentence. I got distracted by the trying to include pictures.

I was going to say that I feel bad clogging up the forum for my personal obsessiveness but since y'all have been so kind to others, I couldn't help myself.

Thanks,

-Jon

• digdirt2
    10 years ago

Yes, somewhat leggy but salvageable. When you transplant them to the new containers - ASAP - bury all that bare stem in the soil. Then more light and cooler ambient air temps so they won't turn leggy again.

Dave

• gelatodave
    10 years ago

I think they look good, move the light closer to the plants to discourage "leggy" plants.

• BriAnDaren Ottawa, On Zone 5
    10 years ago

Hi,

I think your plants look fine for 10 days old. Do a google image search for 'tomato seedlings' and see what's typical and what's leggy.

Adding more light never hurts. If this is not an option, you can hang aluminum foil around your grow area to reflect more light onto the plants.

Cool temperature, adequate fertilization and fanning the plants also help against legginess.

Daren

• n1111z
    10 years ago