Return to the Growing Tomatoes Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Should I be worried about my tomato seedlings?

Posted by Harleylove 9 (My Page) on
Thu, Mar 14, 13 at 11:41

Hi! This is my first time ever growing anything from seeds. I know they are leggy because I've been using a south facing window. I wanted to try grow lights but hubby was worried about the expense and where I could store them so I decided to just try it this way to see how it went first. They have looked great up until now(well, other than the legginess). It seems like since the first leaves are starting to fall off, other lower leaves are looking wilted, drying up, yellowing and fallen off. It's really only happened on two of them but I see signs of it starting on the other plants. I was hoping maybe some of you more experienced growers might have an idea of what may be happening from the picture. We have frost coming through tonight but I want to satrt hardening them off after that.

Any help is much appreciated!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Should I be worried about my tomato seedlings?

Here's a closeup

o

Repot them in a deeper pot up to the bottom of the true leaves. Roots will develop from the stem & you'll have a great root ball.

o

How long ago were these plants started? What is your outside planting date, and are you putting them into the ground or into containers?

o

Any fertilizer yet? If not, they need some.

o

Thanks for your replies.

I was thinking of repotting them and will probably put them in the ground within the next 2 weeks (should I repot them still or just wait?). The last frost for my area is March 20th. I started them about 5 weeks or so ago and have not given them any fertilizer, they are still in seed starting mix. Maybe that's the problem.

Is there a certain fertilizer I should use? I did go to buy some but the guy that worked there talked me into using the household plant fertilizer I already have. Do you think that would be ok?

Thanks a lot!

o