Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ladon_gw

Favorite Hybrid?...(wince!)...or simply your thoughts on hybrids.

ladon
12 years ago

OK...don't judge me...I've been growing only heirlooms for the past 12 years. I love them and I'm not thinking about switching to hybids, despite the relative ease of growing, care and disease resistance. But every year I try some experiments, just for giggles. I recently tried some 'big beef' hybrid tomatoes from the local farmer's market and was surprised that they were actually really good. So I thought, maybe this year I'll try a hybrid or 2 in my otherwise pristinely heirloom garden....LOL. What have been your favorite hybrids in terms of production and taste? What are your thoughts about 'big beef'? What are your thoughts about hybrids in general?

Thanks,

Don

Comments (5)

• homegardenpa
    12 years ago

Over the years my attitude has changed about the hybrid versus heirloom argument. Where I'm at now is that I believe each has their strengths and their weaknesses and each has a place in someone's garden.

The key difference as far as I'm concerned is that you can save your own seed for open-pollinated and heirloom tomatoes, if you grow hybrids you will have to continue buying your seed. If you don't save seeds, I guess this is a moot point.

Typically, heirlooms and other open-pollinated varieties were saved because they had a special merit about them that people liked - usually this revolved around taste, but not always. Hybrids on the other hand got a reputation of being bred primarily for production and disease resistance, but this also is not always the case.

Long story short, there are some very hearty heirlooms out there that are disease resistant and productive and vice versa there very tasty hybrids out there. You just need to do a little research and some trial and error and you'll eventually find something that will do well that you will enjoy growing.