Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sandshifter

leggy seedlings

sandshifter
11 years ago

This is my first year starting tomatos from seed. I thought it would take a lot longer for the seeds to germinate than it did. I checked after 5 days and by then the seedlings were 3 1/2 to 4 inches tall and leaning in every direction . I am wondering if they will survive this condition and grow into transplantable plants..I am considedring placing them in tall paper cups and filling the sides with more starting mix. Good or bad idea?? I also started another batch of seeds in case my first is a total flop. I am not really a new gardener.....just a dumb one.

Comments (7)

• digdirt2
    11 years ago

They will survive but if left as is with a compromised circulatory system and the problems that can lead too.

Best salvage option IMO is to transplant them deeply into a deep container and bury all that stem right up to just below the leaves. That way new roots can develop all along that buried stem and if the right amount of supplemental lighting and the cooler growing temps they need are provided the new growth should be much sturdier with a more normal node length.

Dave

• carolyn137
    11 years ago

Sandshifter, at the top of this Forum you'll see a link to the FAQ's ( frequently asked questions) and one of them is starting from seed which I've linked to below. There's a section about leggy seedlings as well.

And there other FAQ's that you might want to look at as well.

Hope that helps,

Carolyn

Here is a link that might be useful: Starting from Seed

• Ohiofem 6a/5b Southwest Ohio
    11 years ago

If you have more seeds available, why not start over? In the right conditions, tomato seeds can sprout in 3-4 days. Your seedlings are already compromised. If that's all you have, then bury them more deeply as advised. But new seeds, treated properly from the beginning, will be superior.

• Bets
    11 years ago