Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
emileeg

Variety suggestions

emileeg
13 years ago

OK I'm a newbie to tomatoes. I've already started two Roma plants and two Heatwave plants, so that's what I'm growing this year, but I'd like some suggestions for the future!

To start: My husband and I are not big fresh tomato eaters. We like them occasionally on burgers and sandwiches, in guacamole... in fact, most of the time we usually skip tomatoes on salads, or else drown them in dressing. We do LOOOOOVE tomato soup and marinara/spaghetti sauce, though...

Anyways, "just 'cause" I figured I'd put a few tomato plants into the garden plan for this year. I'll give most of them to my mom (who loves them), I thought. My mother, however, is aghast that I didn't plan to plant more. "You'll LOVE homegrown tomatoes," she told me. And then I thought about it, and something I'd read, and realized that I probably don't know what a "real" tomato tastes like.

A book of mine says that most people (myself included) have only ever eaten commercially grown tomatoes sold at the grocery store, which are selected for growing because they are disease/pest resistant, or because they store longer/easier, or because they don't bruise as easily, etc. etc., and TASTE has very little to do with selection. And THEN they're usually harvested green and sold MUCH later, after they ripen.

So I'm re-opening myself to tomatoes. And since my mother (who ate tomatoes like they were apples in her youth) tells me that I have no idea what a "real" tomato tastes like, I'd like some suggestions for varieties I ought to try. I have no idea what kind a "high-acid" or "low-acid" tomato tastes like, or what a "meaty" tomato is like... I've only ever bought and eaten the medium-sized tomatoes that are still on their vines at the grocery store.