bkyleh
16 years ago

{{gwi:1308192}}

{{gwi:1308193}}

Comments (39)

• bkyleh
    Original Author
    16 years ago

those pics are a couple of weeks old. i have since added lights and they are growing like crazy.

nothing flows through those pipes, they are capped off and are really just big reservoirs. each pipe contains 100 plants and is aerated by its own pump

i will post more recent pics later.

• bkyleh
    Original Author
    16 years ago

{{gwi:1308194}}

{{gwi:1308195}}

• bkyleh
    Original Author
    16 years ago

i would like to thank everyone here at gardenweb. i first started posting a few years ago when i decided that i wanted to grow tomatoes for a living. people here were encouraging(at least 85% of the people, anyway!). i have since grown over 100,000 plants and tomatoes have been my only source of income.

growing tomatoes in a green house is a lot harder than i expected. it took a long time to get the environment under control. it was a huge pain to get the temp under control. all would be growing well for a week or two and then i would find all the plants dead and have to replant.

any questions/comments/suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

thanks again, garden web

kyle

• sprtsguy76
    16 years ago

Kyle, it looks like you got everything down to a T. Good to know you are doing what you love. That Green House must be a handful. Congrats!

• soonergrandmom
    16 years ago

Are you saying they are constantly in moving liquid?

• bkyleh
    Original Author
    16 years ago

thanks for the congrats, sprtsguy. i haven't gotten down to a t just yet but i am getting there. its not too much of a handful yet, right now it is just a headful!! the learning curve has been a lot steeper than i thought.....or maybe i am just not as smart as i thought i was! either case it has been frustrating just to get to this point.

soonergrandmom - they aren't in constantly flowing water, they are in constantly aerated water. kinda like a fish aquarium.