Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lexiegurl09

New seedlings, need advice/critique.

lexiegurl09
12 years ago

Hi everyone. This is my first year growing anything from seeds so I am just looking for information on how everything looks so far. I am growing mostly tomatoes and peppers with a few lettuce and eggplants as well. So far everything looks good to me. I rotate them under lights 8-12 hours a day. One is a 2 bulb 6500K daylight bulb, the other is an old light bulb from a fishtank that worked well when starting my cool weather crops. I have started all seeds in a burpee seed starting tray and recently transplanted my tomatoes into 18oz cups with sta-green potting mix. The only problems I noticed is that my tomatoes and peppers are a little leggy (not sure why?) and they both have dark purple stems. I researched and seen the purple stems/leaves are okay on tomatoes but does anyone know about peppers? And I have a few tomato seedlings that look a little pitiful but I'm hoping time will make them look better. Anyway, any feedback is greatly appreciated and I look forward to all advice. Thank you!!!

Here is a link that might be useful: My seedlings!!

Comments (5)

• SoTX
    12 years ago

It looks to me like maybe you need to plant a little deeper. Could be your yellow brandywine is potato-leaved? Good luck with your seedlings--it's always a challenge.

• ticodxb
    12 years ago

The advice I always see on here is to keep the lights on the tomato plants for 18 hours a day. I am not sure what the requirements are for other veggies though.

I am a gardening newbie too (successfully grew tomatoes last year for the first time) and its fun to start learning how to grow from seed isn't it?

• digdirt2
    12 years ago

The only problems I noticed is that my tomatoes and peppers are a little leggy (not sure why?) and they both have dark purple stems. I researched and seen the purple stems/leaves are okay on tomatoes but does anyone know about peppers?