Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
crab_grass

seedlings in a greenhouse?

crab_grass
10 years ago

When is it safe to place tomato seedlings in a greenhouse on warm days? I purchased a shelf style greenhouse from the local garden center - it's just a little thing covered in a green heavy duty plastic. You can zip it up or open it it for ventilation. I have a thermometer in there and on a cool day it heats up to about 55 and a warm day its at 70+.
My tomato seedlings are about two inches tall and have started to set their true leaves. Can they go out into the greenhouse on warm days and back inside at night? Or will they get fried? I would assume that natural filtered sunlight would trump grow lights any day, but they are still babies. Any thoughts? This is my first year growing tomatoes from seed. I started them a bit earlier knowing that we get plenty of warm days where they can happily harden off outside before going into the ground and I want good stocky seedlings before planting them so I figured I'd give them some extra time.
Thanks in advance.

Comments (8)

• cal_mario
    10 years ago

I would suggest putting up a 50% shade cloth over your greenhouse to keep your tender tomatoes from too much heat until they get acclimated.

• seysonn
    10 years ago

When is it safe to place tomato seedlings in a greenhouse on warm days?

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

It depends HOW BIG and HOW AIR TIGHT your greenhouse is. The bigger and the taller the less chances of getting too hot.

You can install a thermostatically controlled exhaust fan to kick in when temps rise to a pre set level. This is a goof proof way.

• digdirt2
    10 years ago

As long as you can be there to closely monitor it at least hourly to keep the temps between 45 and 65 to70 max, fine. But you are months away from of your plant out date so I sure wouldn't rush them out into it.