Return to the Growing Tomatoes Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Plant Spacing in Raised Bed

Posted by jb32172 MI (My Page) on
Mon, Apr 14, 08 at 1:17

Hi
I am very new to gardening. I am going to plant in two 4 by 8 foot raised beds. One is for peppers and the other for tomatoes. How many plants should i put in each bed? thanks for your time.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Plant Spacing in Raised Bed

Depends on variety, type and growth culture used.

Some folks would stake 10 or more. Some of those folks would wish they hadn't. I'd cage a staggered row of six and cuss that for being too close.

o
RE: Plant Spacing in Raised Bed ...

P.S. Common peppers don't get as big as most tomato varieties and can deal with closer spacing.

There should be instructions on the seed pack or plant marker. Yes?

o

Hi,

I use 4 x 8 raised beds for tomatoes & peppers.

DO you plan on planting bush tomatoes or vine tomatoes? That could make a big difference in your plant spacing. I like to grow a few heirloom tomatoes which are usually viney.

One thing I did that worked very well (on my 3rd year now) is this:

I situated length of my raised beds facing south. I put in a trellis that runs the length of the bed. Placed it about 12-18 inches from the north side of the bed frame. I grew 4-5 tomato plants on the trellis on the north side of the bed and grew shorter plants such as peppers & eggplant on the south side of the bed. Worked great for me.

For my trellis I cut an 8 ft section of cattle panel with bolt cutters & installed 2 T posts to hang the cattle panel onto.

Good luck!

o

Here's what works best for me:

Peppers: 2 feet apart.

Tomatoes: 4 feet apart.

Any closer you increase odds of disease and you reduce yield. Don't forget these plants have root systems.

Further apart and you start wasting space.

o