12 years ago

http://i1071.photobucket.com/albums/u516/jayinjay24/80307834.jpg

Planted on 3-29-12

Grown in standard 72cell mini greenhouse

Used miracle grow seed starting mix

Used heat mats until germination then

3" under 4 t5HO lights

Just started putting a light fan on them a few hours a day

This is my first time growing from seed. The tallest seedlings are 2" tall but none have true leaves yet. I've read on here the purple stems at this point is normal.

Questions:

When can I expect true leaves to appear?

Do these look "too leggy"? ... It's not too late for me to re-seed.

When should I pot up? And to what size pots?

When do I start using fertilizer? What kind?

When I do pot up, should I bury them deep like I normally do when transplanting into the garden?

If any other info would help, I'm happy to provide it.

Or if better pics are required. There is no reference for size in these pics. I just measured though. The tallest of them are exactly 2" tall.

Thanks in advance.

Comments (10)

• Jayinjay2424
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Hmm having trouble posting pics. This is my first time. I'll keep workin on it.

Here is a link that might be useful:

• Jayinjay2424
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Week one photo #2

Here is a link that might be useful:

• susan2010
    12 years ago

How far is the light from the seedlings? You want to keep it an inch or two above. Any higher and they are going to stretch to reach it. You might also want to start using a (gentle) fan on them.

• missingtheobvious
    12 years ago

How to post from Photobucket:
    http://forums.gardenweb.com/forums/load/hosta/msg0513322013993.html?14
    This will enable you to put multiple photos in one post.

I've seen worse. All is not lost. Just bury them very deep when you pot up.