Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kerns125

Two Sun Gold tomato seedlings in one pot: is it too late?

kerns125
11 years ago

Hi guys- I'm a newbie so forgive the Q. This is my first year vegetable gardening! I sowed sun gold tomato seeds in Feb and a couple of seedlings looked so cute and were growing so close together that I didn't have the heart to kill off one of the babies when they were little. Now I have conjoined twins, with ~1-foot-high plants that look gorgeous except for their duality. My question is, will I get fewer tomatoes produced if I leave both plants to grow together all summer (should I kill one of the two)? Part of me wants to plant them as-is along with a single sun gold plant in the same growing conditions as a little experiment to see what happens to fruit production, but if you master gardeners already know it will ruin fruit production then I don't want to take the chance.

Thanks! :)

Jen

Comments (13)

• Fleeben
    11 years ago

I would split them - two plants growing that close is not efficient for yields and can cause disease issues. Tomatoes are quite vigorous so just cut off some of the bottom leaves and bury them deep and they should recover.

• coconut_head
    11 years ago

I like the expirament idea. Especially if you have more plants where the production from one plant isn't going to make or break your season.

Another option would be to separate them. Very gently massage the root ball to let the soil (or soiless mix) fall out and then you just lightly tease the roots apart. Generally you would start from one side and just tease and pull gently, they will separate fine. Then plant those suckers up to the bottom of the top leaves and watch em go.

• jolj
    11 years ago

As long as you give them enough of everything for two they should make fruit.
    The problem is air flow & it is a small problem if you watch the plants.

• digdirt2
    11 years ago