Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
st2826_gw

I've made a dumb mistake-help!

st2826
11 years ago

Being the dumb novice i am i bought what i thought were cherry toms good for hanging baskets turns out i bought ones that need upright support.....at least 6ft of it!!!!!!!!

I need some ideas of how to support them on the cheap, we thought up against the house wall but then they'd have to go into pots (will have to buy some and more compost) we've got a couple of narrow -ish beds but not sure what to use as supports for the heights.

I like the tomato spirals but haven't seen them or the cages for sale here and doubt i could get them through the post, so homemade is the way to go-any ideas?

Comments (16)

• angela.t
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I'm a novice too, and although I don't have an answer to your main question, I do have a comment about your soil.

I read this forum quite often, and everyone that I can remember has said that in pots you need to have a soil-less mix. If you do a normal blend of soil it can retain too much moisture, which can lead to problems like drowning the plant, more chance for disease I believe, etc. I just figured to mention because, being a fellow novice, I know I'd hate to make a mistake that'd kill my plants I was looking forward to eating from. ;)

Angela

• digdirt2
    11 years ago

If you use the narrow beds rather than pots - and that would be recommended - then there are all sorts of supports for tomato plants, both home made and sold in stores.