Return to the Growing Tomatoes Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Is miracle grow moisture control any good for tomatoes?

Posted by carolsewzit (My Page) on
Mon, Apr 18, 11 at 9:28

Just wanted to know if miracle grow MC is any good for growing container tomatoes. I added some cotton burr compost to it because it seemed rather compacted. Hope I didn't make a mistake using this in my containers. I'm new to this. Ran out of room in my garden,so I thought I would try to do some in containers. Any advise would be greatly appreciated.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Is miracle grow moisture control any good for tomatoes?

Too much water retention. I'd at least use 1 part perlite to 2 parts MGMC. Better to add bark fines to the mix.

o

I like it, especially in my hot, dry climate. It's what I use to start my seeds & (non-tomato) cuttings, and I've recommended it to others for container grown tomatoes (and they've had success with it.) It is expensive to use in containers, though, and I think the recommendations against bottom watering with it (someone posted about that recently?) would make them a bad choice for self watering containers? The last time I actually grew plants to maturity in containers, I used pro-mix instead, because I could get it much cheaper, in big bales.

o

As Taz mentioned above, several of us who have tried it in various containers find that it holds too much water - doesn't drain well in other words and can lead to root rot and other problems - doesn't work well in self-watering containers.

But I'm sure weather and environment can affect that so whether or not it would work for you might very well depend on where you live - garden zone, weather, etc. You need to provide that information for best info results.

On the Container gardening forum you'll find recipes for making ideal container mixes.

Dave

o