Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardennewbie420

will two sprouts in one cup be okay for now

gardennewbie420
10 years ago

So I'm a total newbie to gardening. I've been reading since last year but just started getting hands on. Mind you I'm a total city boy , so excuse any ignorance I have in regards to gardening. Thanks.

So will these two sprouts be ok a little long together until they are big enough to transplant. Don't know if I'm going to stick them in the dirt or pot . The one way off to the side is crooked , but I'm assuming because its so close the cups wall.

Comments (10)

• 2ajsmama
    10 years ago

You don't say where you are, but those are too small to stick in the ground right now. They could be OK for a couple more weeks but they'd be happier if you just took the larger crooked one near the side (use a spoon or a popsicle stick to lever it out, hold it by the non-serrated leaves to steady it, not the toothed true leaves or the stem) and transfer it to another cup with your potting mix.

I'm assuming they were started in that cup and haven't got really deep roots yet. Putting the larger one that's squished against the side into its own cup ASAP will give both time to grow without competing for nutrients or getting their roots all tangled together.

BTW, why did you cut the rim off the cup? I also hope it's got drainage holes in the bottom - easier to do that before you fill it with mix.

• digdirt2
    10 years ago

Separate them into individual pots before the roots become heavily entangled.

Dave

• gardennewbie420
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks guys. Ajsmama what do you mean "you don't say where you are" ? And I will transfer the bigger one today. Using the soon method you suggest. I cut the cup because the potting mix was low and the sprout was getting to much shade from the cup rim. And I slit many holes in the bottom.

• edweather USDA 9a, HZ 9, Sunset 28
    10 years ago