Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
qriux

Growing campari from seeds in pots in late spring/help!

qriux
12 years ago

I am a newbie on gardening and I just found out I can plant hybrid campari tomatoes. I am just now drying my seeds on paper towels and after about a week I am planning on planting the little ones in small paper cups with a garden mix soil. Anyone think this will work?

Any suggestions? I live in Atlanta, and if seeds germinate I plan on re-potting in large pots. Will I likely get any tomatoes this year, since its already mid April?

Thanks!

Comments (4)

• grow4free
    12 years ago

People seem to have a lot of luck growing out campari seeds from storebought tomatoes. It's possible you'll get a hybridized parent plant though. I'd bet you'll be successful if heat doesn't do it in.

I'm growing a campari and it seems to hold up to heat rather well. If it gets too hot for it to produce tomatoes in mid-summer, you'll still have the fall.

• missingtheobvious
    12 years ago

I've grown Campari from seed and got a tomato much like the original. But grow4free's correct: there's a possibility the parent plant was crossed with pollen from another variety.

Yes, it's absolutely not too late to start seeds now and get tomatoes this summer (assuming the weather's not so hot that it prevents pollination). The hybrid Campari is considered "mid-season," and chances are that your plants will be also.

Supposedly if you pick Camparis too early, they have that little bit of white core, so you may have to experiment to learn when to pick them so as to have the least white core.

When you say "garden mix soil," I hope you mean a "mix" rather than anything that uses the word "soil." Dirt (whether from the ground or out of a bag) is bad for plants in containers; it doesn't provide good drainage. So make sure you use something with a name like "seed starting mix" or "potting mix." Ideally it shouldn't contain any fertilizer.

• qriux
    Original Author
    11 years ago