Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
greenserenity

Injured tomato plants and outgrowing support

GreenSerenity
11 years ago

Hi,
This is my first time growing tomatoes, and I made a huge mistake...
I am growing two determinate hybrid varieties (better bush and celebrity) and two indeterminate (early girl and better boy). Well, my early girl plant quickly outgrew it's tomato cage - I had not realized that they would grow so tall! A 6' tomato plant? Wow!
I am so mad at myself, I thought I could place a bigger cage over the plant, but then I damaged my poor plant and accidentally snapped off a few branches trying to get them into the cage. :( No major branches were lost, just some of the thinner shoots. My plant is in the cage now, but I am worried about the damage I have done, to the branches and possibly to the roots. Will my plant be okay, and will it still produce tomatoes? How should I care for this plant?

I am also concerned that my better boy plant will soon outgrow its cage too. How can I continue to support it without damaging it?

Thank you! Live and learn I guess...
GreenSerenity

Comments (4)

• digdirt2
    11 years ago

Yes the Better Boy will soon outgrow any cage like that so get a new one on ASAP to avoid anymore damage than necessary. For indeterminate varieties 8' is common and many will grow even more.

Those of us that use cages find 6' cages to be adequate as the growth that tops that just drapes back down over the outside of the cage. You'll find many discussions here about the various types of tomato cages available but these ring type things are generally useless when it comes to tomatoes. Save them for peppers, eggplants, etc.

The damage done to the Early girl isn't fatal to the plant. New growth will develop from the nodes below the damage. Just carefully trim off the damaged parts. You might lose some production but indeterminates are really tough guys and recover well in most cases.

Dave

• missingtheobvious
    11 years ago