Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jen_d_gw

Tomatoes and peppers in the same bed?

jen_d
14 years ago

Hi, everyone. This is my first year of gardening, so I have a TON of questions.

We got a spot in out community garden and are building raised beds so I would like to use my space as efficiently as possible. I also plan on practicing crop rotation so that makes things even trickier.

I've been reading that tomatoes and peppers are in the same "family" and should be planted under similar conditions. However, I haven't seen anything saying I can plant them in the same bed. I'd like to try to plant some tomatoes with bell and sweet peppers, but figured I'd ask in case it won't work!

The bottom 1/3 of each bed is steer manure compost, the other 2/3rds is garden soil with another thin layer of compost on top.

Comments (15)

• taz6122
    14 years ago

They should grow fine together. I grew tomatoes with tabasco and jalapeno peppers in the same bed last year. Got great production.

• digdirt2
    14 years ago

Sure no problems.

The bottom 1/3 of each bed is steer manure compost, the other 2/3rds is garden soil with another thin layer of compost on top.

I assume you plant to till/mix up the layers together before planting, right?

Dave

• jen_d
    Original Author
    14 years ago

*pause* See, told you I was new! I was not going to mix them together other than how they would mix once I dug out the holes to put the plants in. Would that be sufficient or do I need to go back and mix the entire bed?

• bigdaddyj
    14 years ago

They grow great together!

• cyrus_gardner
    14 years ago

I would plant tomatoes on the far North/northeast and pepprs on
    the south/southwest part. The reason, tomatoes will grow bigger and
    much taller than peppers and you dont want your pepper in the shade.
    Peppers love sun more than tomatoes too.

• digdirt2
    14 years ago

do I need to go back and mix the entire bed?