Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
winstella

Caged my tomatoes... finally.. do these look ok?

winstella
10 years ago

I finally had my cages dropped off and caged my tomatoes (very late, I know). Never did this before... each tomato has two main stems, so I shoved them into the cages and tried to do as little damage as possible. Does it look right? Is there a certain technique to caging them, or is it ok as long as I keep the main stems inside the cages?

The roma was too big and bushy to get pushed into a cage, and it's already growing over the side of the container so I think I'll just leave it that way.

Any other comments or feedback is appreciated! This is my first time gardening. How do the general health of the tomatoes look? I noticed that some of the leaves are slightly curled up and spotted yellowish. Is that a problem?

This post was edited by winstella on Sat, Apr 26, 14 at 17:01

Comments (11)

• edweather USDA 9a, HZ 9, Sunset 28
    10 years ago

They look good now. All depends on how big they get, they might overwhelm the cages. Those are generally considered 'small' for cages, and might work ok for smaller plants.

• winstella
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Really? They are 54" and the largest that we're available at Home Depot

• Deeby
    10 years ago

I think it's all wonderful ! In time you might have to give huge plants a stake and twine, and I cut off yellowing leaves.
    With all that sun on cement and the sun reflecting off the light color stucco I'd say you'll get great harvests !
    I plant on cement too, but the best tomatoes ever were in grow bags on a yard full of white pebbles (hard on the eyes, rented house)
    Looks like you're having fun !

• DHLCAL
    10 years ago

The issue with these things isn't so much height but weight and stability. These wire cages tend to be light, and don't get rooted very firmly into the ground, especially if we are talking about lightweight potting mix in containers.