Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
strawberrygirl76

Are my seedlings okay to transplant?

StrawberryGirl76
11 years ago

Hi! I'm new to gardening tomatoes, but I've been researching, and am excited to get started. My local greenhouse had all the varieties I wanted as seedlings (Brandywine, Old German, Cherokee Purple, Sweet Million, Sun Gold and Goliath Bush), but they only had them in a very small size. The starts are about 3-4 inches high, with 4-6 leaves each. I was planning on putting them out this week in plastic-warmed soil and under walls of water, but I wasn't sure they would be big enough. I would rather not transplant them in to bigger containers to grow more, if I can avoid it (they are in 1"x3" containers right now). Am I okay to put them out?

Comments (17)

• digdirt2
    11 years ago

Since you already warmed the soil then it is your night time lows that will determine if they can be planted out now and if WOW will be enough protection. So what have they been and what is the forecast?

If the local greenhouse's plants are still that small and since they grow with with a target date in mind, I'm guessing they consider it still too early for planting out in your area. Why not ask them for advice?

Dave

• StrawberryGirl76
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks so much for your response!

Nighttime temps are hovering between 42-48 degrees, and holding steady around there in the forecasts. The greenhouse I purchased the plants from had lots of really huge tomato plants, but just in the really common hybrid varieties. The varieties I wanted were the tiny ones. I did ask them, and they said the transplants would be fine to be put out with the Walls of Water. But even under the right temps/growing conditions, can plants just be to small to handle transplanting outside?

• Danielnc84
    11 years ago