Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
greengoblin72

Looking icky?

greengoblin72
9 years ago

I bought a small tomato plant from home depot a couple of/few weeks ago, but the past few days its been looking� well, icky. Its the best adjective I can describe. It doesnt look like a disease perse, but then again I'm not an expert on tomatoes or diseases. It doesnt look as if its dehydrated. The leaves are kind of brown, almost like a rash on a human. Any ideas on what this could be? i was wondering if it could be something to do with second hand smoke, since my husband is a smoker, and the pot is kept a few feet away from where he goes to smoke. But somehow I dont think so because the smoke would have to travel downwards from the porch�. I dont know.

Comments (18)

• greengoblin72
    Original Author
    9 years ago

another picture

• digdirt2
    9 years ago

i was wondering if it could be something to do with second hand smoke, since my husband is a smoker,

No, not unless he smokes imported Turkish cigarettes. :)

No it isn't dehydrated it is instead drowning and the roots are rotting leading to leaf death.

What potting mix did you use and how often have you been watering it? What size container is it in? What has it been fed if anything?

Where is it (you) located so we can at least guess at what weather it has been exposed to? Lastly, the name of the variety please?

Dave

• centexan254 zone 8 Temple, Tx
    9 years ago

I agree with digdirt on the over watering. I am going to go out on a limb a little farther than he did though. I have seen leaves look like that from a couple of things my wife, and the weather did to some plants.

One is over watered as digdirt said. (BTW he knows his stuff well.)

Two is poor draining of the pot. It looks like it is on the ground. Find something to put it up on like a couple of bricks on each side. It also helps the the soil on the bottom to dry.