Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ehsteve

Tomatoes not doing well

ehsteve
11 years ago

This is my first time trying to grow tomatoes, so don't know if my expectations are off or if I'm doing things wrong.

I have a 'Better Boy" (?) planted in a ~7 gallon self watering container. The potting mix is an organic mix by miracle grow, fresh out of the bag. The tomato came in one of those peat pots that you leave on the plant (but take the bottom out of before planting).

It started off well when I took advantage of the warm march weather but then the plant really slowed growth and the leaves are all turning yellow and look like they're dying.

There are two tomatoes growing on it - would they be sucking up too much energy / nutrients from too small a plant?

I didn't add any fertilizer to the potting mix (as it is supposed to have some in it to start with) but have since added some organic solid tomato fertilizer. Could the plant have just not been getting enough nutrients, so the leaves turned yellow?

Should I nix the two tomatoes currently growing? Restart with a new plant?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

http://img23.imageshack.us/img23/1584/photo6xu.jpg

http://img703.imageshack.us/img703/9656/photo5zf.jpg

Comments (11)

• suncitylinda
    11 years ago

I cant open the pix. Yellowing leaves this early on usually mean too much water, poor drainage or both.

• jean001a
    11 years ago

Please add fertilizer -- the plants are starving.

It's important to know that the potting mix that comes with fertilizer in it doesn't have enough to grow vigorous veggies.

• missingtheobvious
    11 years ago

chuggerguy, are these pots the kind without exterior drain holes? (I've seen them but haven't grown anything in them. I hope someone else will comment.)