Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cebiginalaska

Tomato Seedlings - PH, N, P, K need to worry?

cebiginalaska
10 years ago

I am new to growing anything and I just started with Tomatoes. I started my Beefsteak Tomatoes from Seeds. I have seedlings right now that have just formed Cotyledons (first leaves that start popping out) I was wondering if I should worry about the PH, N, P, K right now?

I planted my seedlings in Miracle Grow Potting Mix and the PH is around 6.5ish. Haven't tested the N, P, K value yet. My kit requires me to soak soil in water for 24 hours then test the values. The soil is drying out from the fan that I have pointed at the seedlings to help keep the temp lower 70 degrees with fan going.

Comments (15)

• edweather USDA 9a, HZ 9, Sunset 28
    10 years ago

No need to worry about fertilizing now, there's plenty in the mix anyway. Some people fertilize weakly, 1/4 strength at the most, after the first full set of leaves. No need to really test the NPK of the MG mix unless you just want to experiment. The seedlings look good, just let them grow.

• Raw_Nature
    10 years ago

A lot of people when starting out with anything, tend to over think everything.. Remember, you are only growing a plant, don't worry about the nitty gritty, the plant grows itself.. You are doing great, keep the growing medium moist like a rung out sponge.. Water thoroughly, let soil dry out, water thoroughly, let dry... Keep the fan on them.. You are doing great! Don't over think anything, that will get you in trouble... Just water the plant and watch it grow.. Only time you should really be concerned is if your plant looks sickly, which you doesn't, yours look very robust! Your doing well for just starting out! Relax, Don't over complicate anything!!

Joe

• cebiginalaska
    Original Author
    10 years ago