Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mikerond

Tomato Seedling Problems

mikerond
9 years ago

I started some tomato seeds in Jiffy pellets. Everything sprouted fine and grew a few inches tall. I started them in late January because last year I started them too late, (end of march) I kept them watered and under lights, and used a weak miracle grow solution on them. The problem is over the last few weeks the leaves have become yellow or brown, and the leaves get scrawny stems. and I only have 2 or 3 plants left that look decent. and transplanted them in 3" pots. I am new to seed starting, I get the basics of it, but I have a few questions, when do you remove the seedlings from the heat mat, when do you decrease the length of time the plants spend under the lights? Does any one have experience with these self watering mats kits they sell, do they keep the plants too wet. Any tips to growing tomatos from seed will be greatly appreciated!

Comments (9)

• seysonn
    9 years ago

"WHEN DO YOU REMOVE >>>FROM HEAT MAT ?"

Ans: as soon as the seeds emerge/sprout

• cold_weather_is_evil
    9 years ago

Since you use peat pellets and I use them too I'll tell you what I do. This breaks so many rules 85% of the people here wouldn't do what I do no way no how.

I germinate in peat pellets after putting the hydrated things in the microwave long enough to raise steam. They go in small trays from cheap frozen dinners that don't go nuts and warp when nuked.

The tray sits over extremely high humidity 75 degree bottom water heat. I flood the tray every single day of it's working life, draining off what doesn't get absorbed within a few seconds.