Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
harleylove

Need advice

harleylove
11 years ago

Hi,

This is my first year growing from seed and I have learned a lot, mostly from making so many mistakes. I started Beef and large cherry tomatoes way too early. I had excellent germination but inadequate lighting so I have a lot of tall leggy plants. I'm having such a hard time hardening them off too. It's been close to 2 weeks and I've been doing it gradually but they still look beat up(between the wind, sun and cold) but they are still putting out new growth. My husband says I should just plant them but I'm wondering if I'd be better off either direct sowing new seeds or starting again indoors and moving them outdoors before they get their true leaves so they will be more acclimated to the weather.

Advice much much appreciated!
Leah

Comments (11)

• avocado101
    11 years ago

Tomatoes are pretty hardy. Plant the leggy ones you have, but plant them deep. Prune/remove the bottom leaves or branches if there are any. The lower stem part of the tomatoes will grow roots. It'll be better than sowing new seeds.

If you have more space, direct sow any seeds you have.

• Creek-side
    11 years ago

I have also planted leggy plants by sort of laying them on their side in an elongated hole and bending the stem up straight.

• Bets
    11 years ago

Trench planting is a very good way to handle leggy tomato plants. Just be careful not to break the stem when planting, but if you do happen to break it, the plant will probably survive the breakage (especially if the "break" is more of a sharp bend than actually parting the plant from its roots.)

Betsy

Here is a link that might be useful: Trench Planting Tomatoes

• harleylove
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thank you all. Glad to know I don't need to start over. I've spent so much time taking care of them.

Thanks for the link Betsy. I'm going to read up on it.

Leah

• monet_g
    11 years ago