Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
newbie468

Tomatoes in SFG- should I prune to single-stem?

newbie468
9 years ago

Hello all,
As the name implies, I am brand new to gardening and have decided to start off using the square foot gardening method.

I have a question about indeterminate cherry tomatoes- my two 4x4 beds currently get 4 hours of full sun (11am-3pm) with dappled morning and afternoon shade. Since I have such limited space and full sun, I am wondering what would be the ideal spacing/number of tomato plants. I was thinking of doing 1 tomato per 12in. and pruning to a single stem. I know 4 hours of full sun may be pushing it, but it gets hot and humid in GA so I want to try. Any advise is appreciated! Thank you.

*Forgive the re-post. I am trying to get as much input as possible.*

Comments (26)

• seysonn
    9 years ago

Welcome !

I think the amount of sun situation down in 7B (GA) is ok. I have done Gardening in Alpharetta, GA in similar situation. Actually in the dog days of summer that is a plus. Tomatoes, in some people's opinion, are NOT FULL SUN plants. Plants (including tomatoes) need a certain amount of light (in lux, lumins ..) to do their photo synthesis. Beyond that they don't need more light. IOW, more light does mean better for tomatoes.

On the SF gardening: I think it is a good concept to use land efficiently when you do not have a lot of it. . So it doe NOT mean that you have to plants things in SF grids. When it comes to tomatoes, IMO, you will need a minimum space of 18" by 18" . Even then you have to do substantial pruning. Within that space I will keep 3 (main + 2 branches). Because the space is small , you will have to stake or trellis them. Cage might not fit.

BTW: I am practicing what I am preaching here: i.e, I am going to plant 8 (smaller, determinants) in a 3' by 6' raised bed. That is one in 2.25sf.

• newbie468
    Original Author
    9 years ago