Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
texasbaby_gw

Yellow Tomato Buds

TeXasbaby
11 years ago

I am new to gardening and have planted my first veggie garden this year. My question is about my Beefmaster tomato plant. I have my first bud on the plant, but it has turned yellow. Does this mean that it is going to fall off? A couple of days ago I forgot that I had turned on my soaker hose, and ended up flooding my garden. Did this shock my plants?

I have other plants in the garden as well, and the green beans seem to be doing great, but I'm not getting much growth on anything. Did I kill all my plants in less than a month of having them in the ground???

Here is a link that might be useful:

Comments (6)

• lewski
    11 years ago

Not all buds pollinate. Those that don't will fall off. It can help if you shake the cages a couple of times a day.

No, you didn't kill your plants by overwatering. They will be fine.

Lew

• JenTiffany
    11 years ago

I'm fairly new to gardening too, but I will pass on a bit of information that I was given by another member here. Since your garden has been planted recently, they might just be busy where you can't see them. Tomatoes especially, will seem like they aren't growing because they are building their root system. They have to get a nice large, strong root system, because when they start growing, they'll really take off and they need the roots to support the rapid growth. When I first planted mine in the garden, it was about 3 weeks to a month before I started seeing a big difference. I posted on here about how they appeared stunted and I thought it was maybe a soil nutrition issue or something. But now it seems like every time I go outside, they're bigger. I'm blown away at how fast they grow once they really get going! The peppers still seem to be growing pretty slowly, but for me it's all just an experiment since I have no reference point. Perhaps your plants just need a little more time?