Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
killrbuckeye

What's wrong with my plant? (Pic)

KillrBuckeye
11 years ago

I'm trying to grow tomato plants in pots. I'm relatively new at this (I got a late start last summer), so I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong. I have an Early Girl in one pot, and a Better Boy in another. These were good-sized seedlings when I transplanted them. The Early Girl seems to be doing pretty well--7-8 flowers are currently opening up. The Better Boy seems to be struggling a bit. It has definitely grown some, but it doesn't look very healthy and only has 1 flower open and a few others that are days away. The leaves are curled up and have blotchy colors--shades of drak green, light green, and yellow. Any ideas what's causing this? In terms of water, if anything they've had too much. Could over-watering cause this? Thanks in advance for any information you can give me.

Comments (9)

• davidtigerfan
    11 years ago

Loks like a nutrient deficiency. I believe purple = lake of phosphorous.

Yep:

Purple leaves:
    Leaves with purple veins and overall purplish tint. Early season, cool temperatures. No insects present Phosphorus deficiency

Put some tomato fertilizer on with a higher 2nd number. (Like 10-10-10, but rather 3-7-3 or something)

• Djole
    11 years ago

There seems to be a bit of everything involved here - mainly stress, accompanied by over-watering and possibly nutrient uptake problems. Can you tell us what were/are the daily highs and lows?

• KillrBuckeye
    Original Author
    11 years ago