Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
shadiah_gw

No first leaves emerging

shadiah
11 years ago

This is my first year starting seeds indoors (and indeed my first post here on GardenWeb!) and while I had intended to buy grow lights, my dad suggested using some halogen lights he had left over from another project. Since my dad is usually right, I decided to save a few bucks and take him up on his offer. Unfortunately, my tomato seedlings (and many of my other seedlings) have not managed to grow beyond the seedling (cotyledon) stage. We realized that halogens are lacking in blue light that plants need to grow, so we added a couple of compact florescent bulbs until I could get some grow lights. The grow lights have been in place for a couple of weeks now and my Beaverlodge plums are finally starting to grow their first true leaves (just barely!) but my others (Stupice, Yellow Pear, Japanese Black Trifel) still look like they have for the last month or so.

So my question is, will they bounce back? Given our short growing season here in the NW, I've only got a three more weeks or so before I've got to get them in the ground. Will they be ready? I had a few succumb to damping off, one or two have a tiny bit of yellowing, but otherwise the stems and leaves seem okay.

Comments (12)

• missingtheobvious
    11 years ago

Hi, Shadiah. Welcome to GW.

How many hours a day are the lights on? Are the plants in the house or in a cooler area like a basement or garage?

What are the plants growing in? How do you water them (top or bottom), and how often?

• shadiah
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks!

- 14-16 hours, though sometimes it's as little as 12 and a few days as many as 18.