Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kyody

Help Please, would be so appreciated!

Kyody
10 years ago

Hello All,
I am new to gardening and this forum. I have decided that this is the year. Unfortuantley one of my tomatoe plants has taken a turn. My leaves are spotting and as you can see the fruit itself has dark spots on the bottom. Its only on one, the others seem fine. If you could please look at theses pics. and give me any suggestions I would so appreciate it. I am also growing peppers and herbs and those seem to be doing great. I am in zone 8 if that helps. I so hope it can be saved. This forum has been so helpful. Thanks in advance for any help. I have more pics of the leaves with spots and the steam with a stick moss to it.
Karen

Comments (12)

• jean001a
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Blossom end rot. See FAQ at http://faq.gardenweb.com/faq/tomato/

Here is a link that might be useful: FAQ

• miesenbacher
    10 years ago

"Unfortuantley one of my tomatoe plants has taken a turn. My leaves are spotting and as you can see the fruit itself has dark spots on the bottom."

I think more pictures are in order, especially the foliage. I've never seen BER look quite like that, which looks like a splotch. Normally BER is concentric centered on the end of the fruit.

• jadie88
    10 years ago

Yeah, I'm far from an expert, but BER in my experience involves the actual spot where the blossom had been, and it grows out from there with that waterlogged look. I've only seen it a few times though...

• edweather USDA 9a, HZ 9, Sunset 28
    10 years ago

It is usually the actual blossom end, but I've seen plenty that look like the OP's photo, including in my garden. It's all BER.

• Kyody
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks so much guys. I really appreciate you taking the time to respond. Here is additional pics for informational purposes.

• Kyody
    Original Author
    10 years ago