Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
seysonn

Stringing vs staking Tomato plants.

seysonn
10 years ago

We are all familiar perhaps with caging, staking and weaving. Now I have seen yet another way; that is STRINGING.

To my understanding this method can be best used when you plant your tomatoes in rows. I have done similar thing for runner beans. But in that case , all I had to do was to drop twines from above. Beans wouldl then get a hold of them and climb up. But with the tomatoes those strings must be sturdy and tied into a rigid structure. I find this method much better than tying to stake and/or cage ribs.

Hs anyone here used this method ?

Comments (12)

• hermicide
    10 years ago

It's only my second year growing tomatoes so I'm not a seasoned expert by any means. I love this method because it's more streamlined and clean. You don't get the out of control mess you get in a cage. You can sucker the plants to as many stems as you want (I do 3). Of course the trade off is less production per plant but you can plant a little closer together than with cages.

I use 1/4" twine and wrap it loosely twice around the stem at the dirt line and tied off to a stake. Leave a little slack in the line and wrap the stem around as it grows.

• hidesertca
    10 years ago

This is my first year doing this but I am using a electrical conduit trellis with trellis netting on indeterminate tomatoes. My plants are at least 4ft tall right now and doing great. I use velcro plant ties to tie the stems to the netting as they grow.

• sue_ct
    10 years ago

I would have to see pics of this, It just sounds like tying to stakes and people have been using those for years. What does "stringing" mean that is different than tying a plant to a stake using string?

Are you talking about tying it to an overhead structure (as described in the first post) OR a stake, which is described in the second post? Are you both talking about the same thing?