Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wineman_gardener

oh noooooooo!

wineman_gardener
16 years ago

I posted a few weeks ago that I am new to gardening and I had planted some twenty five various types of Heirloom tomatoes in my new back yard.

My dream, being a chef, is to experiment and create as many different dishes and salads as I can once the fruits of my labours arrive.

The tomatoes take up about ninety percent of my vegetable garden. Yesterday I heard that one should not plant the same vegetable two years in a row in the same location. Does this mean I canÂt grow tomatoes in my garden next year or is there some treatment I can add to my soil to neutralize it. After all, one of the largest areas for growing, commercial styles of tomatoes is Leamington in South Western Ontario, and they produce thousands of kilos of tomatoes in the same soil year after year.

Any suggestions or comments will be appreciated. I will be happy to share the results of any dishes we make later in the season.

Cheers

Alan

Comments (8)

• instar8
    16 years ago

Rotating crops is beneficial because:

1. It helps discourages buildup of pests and diseases in any one area of the garden.
    2. It helps prevent depletion of the particular nutrients that any given crop uses the most.

There are other more esoteric reasons, such as using heavily cultivated or mulched crops to break up a weed cycle, and 'scheduling' rotation to take advantage of beneficial relationships between different types of veggies.

That said, there's no reason you CAN'T plant things in the exact same spot every year.

Even Eliot Coleman, the well-known organic guru who has made rotation as much an art as a science, deliberately keeps a tomato plot, which he even uses composted tomato vines on, to prove that good organic methods can overcome
    less-than-optimal conditions.

So if you're adding back organic matter and mineral supplements at least every other year, you should be fine.

• bigdaddyj
    16 years ago