Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jimjimjim_gw

Can I transfer into a larger pot??

jimjimjim
14 years ago

Hi,

I am a newbie, and planted some Sweet 100, brandywine, and better boy plants into containers about a month ago. After doing some research, I realized that the containers are too small (about 3 gallons) for the plants. The sweet 100 and better boy are starting to flower, but in the very early stages. Only a few of the flowers are even starting to open. Would it be harmful to the plants to transfer into larger (min 5 gallon) pots? Is it too late or is there a better time to transfer? thanks for any help!!

Comments (3)

• digdirt2
    14 years ago

The sooner the better. Just move it to the new (MUCH larger) container rootball and all and try to set it deeper in the new container.

You will likely lose the current blooms but the plant will make up for it later.

Dave

• Bets
    14 years ago

Hi Jim,

Welcome to GW.

What zone are you in? That might make a difference on what you do with your plants.

If you have a lot of growing season left, you may want to transplant your tomatoes and clip the blossoms off, they will flower again fairly soon. You will have later fruits but most likely more of it. Also that would give your plants time to climatize to their new homes and put some roots into the additional potting soil.

Actually, I think I would do that even if you are in a shorter zone such as 5 or even 4. Here in zone 5 most of us are just now putting our plants into the ground, and many of us clip the blossoms (if there are some) so that the plant can concentrate on growing and adapting to its new location.