Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
melbel_gw

Are those suckers ?

melbel
9 years ago

Hi, I'm a newbie and I was wondering .. do we remove the suckers of a baby tomato plant ( 2 month old) ? or those going to be the principal stem ?

thanks you Mel

Comments (13)

• DHLCAL
    9 years ago

There are no such things as "suckers."

• onetomatonut
    9 years ago

At this stage of growth probably not, In my opinion they're quite young. I have some maturing plants in the ground that are 7-8 weeks old.As I was picking suckers off , I saw one that looked like a sucker. Only to realize as I was about to pinch it off, it had blooms.

Tomatoes can grow in odd ways, sometimes what looks like a sucker, is really a new shoot off of the main stalk. I'd wait until they're about 12-16" tall. That's when suckers seem to start showing up.

• digdirt2
    9 years ago

As already said there is no such thing as "suckers". They are simply lateral branches and they will produce fruit. The claim that they "suck" nutrients from the plant - thus the name - has long been proven false and is discussed here often in great detail.

So there is no need to remove them that relates to the health of the plant. Rather it depends on the plant spacing and the method of support used for them.

Pruning/removing lateral branches is strictly optional and will reduce the production of the plant.

The plant in your blue cup is somewhat malformed and the primary growth tip has stunted. That stem second from the left will become your primary stem now. The third stem from the left is just a leaf branch and will replace the damaged one that is on the far right.

Dave

• DHLCAL
    9 years ago

Is there a difference between a "sucker" and a "new shoot off the main stalk"?

• vlselz
    9 years ago

Ok wait It will reduce plant production if "suckers" or Lateral stems are prunned? Dang it, wish I read about lateral branches before reading the hype of pruning them!! SOOOO disappointed.... :'(

• DHLCAL
    9 years ago