Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
roosemom

Help! Bottom Leaves Curling On My Tomato Plants

KerenR
11 years ago

I am pretty new to gardening, and I noticed yesterday that the top 3/4 of my tomato plants look healthy, but the bottom leaves are curling. Someone told me this could be tomato leaf curl? Plants are in full sun with no shade at all. I have been watering twice a week because I have basil and marigold seeds in the ground. Temps have been between 60-90 F. Now, I did spread out some Garden Tone a few days ago. I couldn't walk between my plants because the seeds haven't sprouted. Maybe some hit the leaves? But my peppers are in the same area and aren't doing this at all...I know this plant looks leggy, but the rest of my plants don't so much. I've got 6 varieties of tomatoes out there. Any thoughts? Here is a link to a picture of it if that will help:

Here is a link that might be useful: Picture of tomato plant

Comments (5)

• digdirt2
    11 years ago

Tomato leaf roll. "Curl", curling from leaf tip toward the stem, even though some use the terms interchangeably is usually associated with a tomato disease and that is not what you have.

As I mentioned on your other post, It is called 'tomato leaf roll'. Googling that term gets you lots of pics and info and I was going to link some previous discussions here about it but most of them have fallen off the board. Here is one good link but there are many others too avaible via Google.

Basically it is a physiological response of the plant to stress but poses to real threat to the plant over all. Once the source of the stress goes away so does the condition.

The causes of stress can be as simple as the fact that it is young and growing or as complicated as poor soil drainage problems, excess nitrogen fertilizer, too much or too little water, etc. Over-watering is listed as the most common cause so I would focus on eliminating that issue first.

Dave

• Bets
    11 years ago

KerenR,