Return to the Growing Tomatoes Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
topping tomato plants

Posted by marullo pa (My Page) on
Sat, May 28, 11 at 14:15

I have never done this before (except in the late summer. I get the minimal amount of sun so end up with 8-9 foot plants which extend way above the cages. My brother in law (with my plants) grows tomatoes that never get over 4 feet tall and spread out 5 feet. He's got almost total sun so the plant never needs to grow tall. He gets twice as many tomatoes as well. Can I keep topping off a plant (from the beginning) to make it grow wider? Would such a plant produce more (despite my minimal sun)_?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: topping tomato plants

Since no one else has responded I'll reply with my usual info that topping indeterminate plants is not recommended except perhaps in the fall to speed ripening and topping determinate varieties is never recommended. There are several previous discussions and a FAQ here about this that the search using 'topping' or 'pinching' will pull up if you want to read them.

It just doesn't work - trying to turn an indeterminate vine into a bush. When you cut a vine 2 new vines sprout from the node just below the cut. Not leaf branches, not bloom clusters, but new vines. Cut those new vines and 2 more vines will sprout from the nodes just below those cuts. And so on and so on. So you end up with lots of short vines but no fruit production.

But to really know what the cause or problem is we need to know the name of the variety. Your BIL's 4 foot tall, 5' wide plants aren't indeterminates, maybe semi-determinates like Celebrity? But an 8-9' indeterminate tomato plant is not abnormal regardless of the amount of sun. If your plants are leggy (long stem section between leaf branches then they aren't getting enough sun. But instead of trying to force the plant to adapt to the poor growing conditions you have to focus on improving the growing conditions instead.

Dave

o