Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
secondcup_gw

First Time Tomatoer... it's a word...

secondcup
11 years ago

My neighbor thinks my tomato plant needs some kind of support. She called it a cage.

It's my first time growing tomatoes I hate to admit.

Do they really need some kind of support?

Comments (3)

• missingtheobvious
    11 years ago

The plant may not look like it needs support today, but this is only May! Consider also that the weight of the fruit will pull the branches down, even if the fruit are only cherry- or grape-sized.

You want to get the plant off the ground for multiple reasons. First, a prostrate plant makes it easy for pests to access both the leaves and the fruit. Trust me -- you don't want to grab a tomato and discover you've grabbed a slug!

Second reason: a sprawling tomato can get so large and have so many branches you can't reach the ripe fruit in the middle, which is darned frustrating. (Branches which lie on the soil will take root so they can't be nudged out of the way to allow you to step in the middle.)

Third reason: soil is full of disease organisms; the plant will be much healthier if contact with the soil is minimized. That means not only raising the plant off the ground but also mulching beneath the plant so rain can't splash bacteria from the soil onto the leaves. [Another benefit of mulching is that soil moisture will be more consistent, which also makes for a happier plant.]

On this forum, we discuss and debate the best way to support tomato plants. Everyone has a pet method (I know I do).

At this point, because you already have such a large plant, you're a bit limited in how you can support it. Most of what are called "cages" won't work because you'd never stuff the plant inside without breaking branches.

Here's an overview of various tomato-support methods:
    http://www.mastergardeners.org/picks/tomato_staking.html

You can also do a Search on the first page of this forum.

• carolyn137
    11 years ago