Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
meb504

Marigold myth: is this plant actually attracting bugs to garden?

meb504
13 years ago

I planted marigolds throughout my tomato garden to act as a deterrent for the bad tomato pests. Now, however the marigold flowers are absolutely covered in bugs, lots of small ones with wings and some larger beetle types have some lady-bug like coloring. I am a beginner gardener and am not familiar with all of the garden pests. From what I can tell neither of these are japanese beetles and I can't find info on what they might be or whether these bugs will go on to decimate my other plants. I am very close to just chunking all of my marigolds but I don't want to on the off chance that the bugs the marigolds are attracting would actually help the garden-albeit very unlikely that this would be the case. help!

Comments (21)

• digdirt2
    13 years ago

In my experience, like so many other of the companion planting claims that don't hold up to actual practice, yes, they do attract problem insects. Some beneficials too but I can get them to the garden without issuing the invite to the bad guys.

Dave

• taz6122
    13 years ago

I can say I had less of a problem with horned and fruitworms when I planted them with my tomatoes.

• bigdaddyj
    13 years ago

Marigolds planted in full sun attract spider mites. You may be seeing the benificials eating the mites. Here is one of several links showing how Marigold's attract spider mites. I also have first hand experience! It's not pretty...

http://aggie-horticulture.tamu.edu/PLANTANSWERS/fallgarden/nematode.html

• novice_2009
    13 years ago

That's a good question! I have always heard to plant marigolds around garden, and figured there had to be some benefit to it. For the past two years I have planted them, and not sure, but I think they do help, even if they are just bait plants. They do have a strong odor, which would confuse the pests that seek out plants by smell, right?

• austinnhanasmom