Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
loribee2

Do these tomatoes look right to you?

loribee2
13 years ago

This is my first year growing tomatoes from seed. I've got 4 different varieties from two different seed companies and they all look like this (disregard the "chopped off" branches. That was a blackbird I caught in the act--thus the deer netting):

I've been thinking they're just young, but after scouring the internet images of young tomato plants, I haven't seen any that have this "folded leaf" look. If they're sick, I want to hurry to the nursery and buy replacements before they all sell out. And if they are, indeed sick, does anyone know what's wrong with them? I can't find any "diseased tomato" photos that look remotely like this.

Comments (25)

• mulio
    13 years ago

They looked starved. My thought was there is probably too much wood in the soil mix (high carbon to nitrogen ratio). If this is the case that would be reducing or even preventing nutrient uptake.

If its been cool out where you live that could make the situation worse.

The wood issue can be addressed some by adding nitrogen.

If you dont rework the soil than you may have to fertilize more frequently so that the plant gets some nutrients. It's going to take awhile to break down all that wood.

• anney
    13 years ago

They look a bit cool (purple foliage) and stressed (curling leaves). You don't say what your zone is -- it would help if you'd edit your member page (link at the very bottom of the page) to include it and your state. Many of us rely on that information to respond to posts.

You may have planted them out too early and they're showing the effects, though it appears that their early days inside were good ones!

• loribee2
    Original Author
    13 years ago