Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ejh805

Complete newbie. Starting Container Tomato Garden

ejh805
11 years ago

Hi everyone :)

I'm completely new to growing tomatoes and will be purchasing small starter plants to transplant into 5 gallon plastic pots. I just want to know if anyone could tell me what brand/type of soil to use for a container tomato plant.

I have plenty of perlite to mix in to prevent the soil from compacting too badly.

Also, what balance of NPK should I look for in pre-mixed soils?

Thanks for your help!

-Emily

Comments (16)

• Djole
    11 years ago

I can't give you much of an advice as to what soil to use since we don't share the same market, but keep in mind that tomatoes are heavy feeders, so whatever you do choose will have to be accompanied by regular feeding through out the season.

As you are completely new, i'd suggest to get some liquid soluble fertilizer with a higher potash (K) value, something like say 19-19-25 or similar. It's not the most efficient solution, but it will get you through the season just fine as it has everything your plants need at any stage of growth (if you follow instructions on the label of course).
    As you grow them, you will gather experience and knowledge and you will learn to recognize different stages of growth, based upon which you can apply certain fertilizers according to the plants variable nutrient needs at given time ;)

• digdirt2
    11 years ago

Agree and Emily you might want to read through all the discussions that are already here about growing tomatoes in containers. There are many of them that the search will pull up for you and they cover all the basics. I linked several of them below -just scroll down to the blue bars.

You'll also find a great deal of info that has a focus on growing them in containers over on the Container Gardening forum here. Container growing is very different from growing them in ground and has its own unique set of problems and needs you will need to learn about.