Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tomato_tommy

HELP! with Acquired Tomato plants

Tomato_Tommy
10 years ago

Hi,
This is my first time posting anything but I have been doing a lot of reading. Lots of knowledge to be shared here! Anyways, A local High school this past weekend had a sales going on with there plants grown by a horticulture class. I got 6 tomato plants and they all have the same problem...... First off they were grown in a green house and are about a foot and a half high already. They were all root bound being in these tiny starter pots. They would barely stand up with out tipping over. They don't have many branches for as old of plants as they seem to be and the upper most leaves are all gnarly and curled looking. Most of them have also begun to flower as well. Which is odd because they are not near mature enough. The specific types i got were Old German, Early Girl, and a Roma variety. NOt sure what would be the issue but I am worried about the growth from her to the end of the season. I have re-potted them into larger containers as it is not yet time to plant them outside. Any help with what is causing the curly leaves and the flowers so early and what to would be great help.

Comments (6)

• digdirt2
    10 years ago

Leggy, lanky plants such as you describe - those grown without sufficient light - can be salvage by what is called trench-planting. Dig a 6" deep trench at the planting site and lay the plant in it horizontally burying all of the plant except the top cluster of leaves and a bit of stem just below them. New roots will develop all along that buried portion of the plant and it will continue to grow.

Trench planting, while not ideal, is a fairly common practice and the plants do well.

Dave

• Bets
    10 years ago

It sounds like the starter pots were packed closely in a tray. They have been real stressed. Potting up was a good move. Be sure to harden them off gradually before you put them out in their permanent homes.