Return to the Growing Tomatoes Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
if you could only grow one heirloom variety for taste?

Posted by suellen45 (My Page) on
Fri, May 2, 08 at 17:06

What would it be............

Sue Ellen

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: if you could only grow one heirloom variety for taste?

Me, and a few million others, would say Brandywine Sudduth. It's known as the gourmet of all tomatoes.

Don

o

• Posted by lightt 6/7 Northern VA (My Page) on
    Fri, May 2, 08 at 18:19

Sue Ellen,
That's close to being an impossible question to answer and I'll bet you're going to get about as many different
opinions as responses.

For taste only and not considering anything else I'd probably say Prue.

For a orange/yellow it'd definitely be Aunt Gertie's Gold.

For a "black" I'd grow Cherokee Purple.

Terry Light
Oak Hill, Virginia

o

This is a hard call, but I'll give you my top four:

Black Krim
Caspian Pink
Hillbilly
Marianna's Peace

o

I'm relatively new at growing tomatoes, but Brandywine was my favorite last year

o

This is not a question which can be answered. It is akin to asking one to identify their favorite sunset or piece of music. The response from my most recent garden memory reflects only immediate recall. And that is a large, warm and lucious Kellogg's Breakfast, fresh-picked from the garden on a bright August day.

o

Taste only-Earl's Faux
CDGTXS

o

Since it is pretty much too late to grow from seed this year, I assume you are looking for one you can buy as a plant. That will limit your choices drastically.

What sort of heirlooms are available to you locally?

Dave

PS: if you are asking for future info, then a search here will pull up tons of "favorite..." past discussions including many titled 'favorite heirloom', 'best tasting tomato', 'pick your favorite heirloom', etc. Lots of good reading and many, many suggestions. What tastes good to one person may be blah to many others. ;)

o

Golden Jubilee.