Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sugi_c

Maskotka & Tumbling Tom (yellow)

Both were planted as seeds on April 1 in the same soil and same sun, and the difference in size, color and leaves is quite fascinating! Maskotka is on the left (larger).

This is my first year doing tomatoes in containers due to only having a balcony instead of a yard, and I chose these two varieties--one red and one yellow, both good for containers according to my research. I can't wait! And since the weather finally decided to become summer, the tomatoes seem to love it though I am finding that watering every two days is vital.

I thought I had the brilliant idea of buying and using these 5x5 square planters from the hydroponics store; they are a good size and will work great until they go into their final container. But now I see that it wasn't so brilliant as these are much less malleable than regular flimsy plastic containers -- I have no clue how I will transplant but that day will be fun, trying to get these out in one piece.

Comments (16)

• Bets
    10 years ago

I think you will find that removing them from those pots for transplanting won't be difficult. You'll just have to make sure they are well watered and invert the pot with the tomato stem between your fingers and your hand and fingers supporting the rim of the pot. Then just give the pot a sharp rap or three with your other hand and you'll find the root ball will drop free. (Which is why your hand is over the opening of the pot, it wouldn't be nice to drop a 'mater baby on its noggin.)

I hope that helps.

Betsy

• Sugi_C (Las Vegas, NV)
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Betsy -- I hope so! Thanks!!

I love the clean and structured look of these planters and I bought many ranging from this 5x5 to much larger 5 gallon equivalent ones. They're not "pretty" but with such limited space, I can't have pretty, large AND functional, haha.