Return to the Growing Tomatoes Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Tomato Issues

Posted by SweetPea2909 7b/8 NC (My Page) on
Wed, May 30, 12 at 21:06

I've noticed alot of people having tomato issues similar to mine... leaf curl and spots etc.

I'm interested in what types/varieties of tomatoes, what brand (i.e. Bonnie plants or ?) to see if there are any similarities.

I have an organic raised bed of tomatoes interplanted with basil. My basil is doing better than any other year yet these tomatoes aren't doing well. They were Bonnie transplants from Lowe's and all are heirloom varieties. There are 6-8 plants and not the same variety and all are having issues. They are blooming well but have wilt/curl and black spots and yellowing. They have been fed once with Miracle-Gro tomato food and have been in the ground right at 5 weeks.

This is my first year with the Bonnie plants and I've never had any issues in previous years other than tomato/tobacco hornworms.

My pics are at: https://picasaweb.google.com/103591688653909288339/Tomatoes

Here is a link that might be useful: My tomatoes

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Tomato Issues

Forgot to mention that the problem was showing before the feeding with Miracle-Gro.

o
RE: Tomato Issues

What I see on some of the leaves looks to me like TSWV ( Tomato Spotted Wilt Virus) infection and it's been a bad year for that in NC, that I know.

The problems is not Bonnie plants, the problem is that there are thrips in your area that are causing the infection.

So I suggest either going to the Pest and Disease Forum here at GW and pulling down one of the disease sites, TAMU or Cornell are good, or better still going straight to Google and entering Tomato Spotted Wilt Virus, so you can learn more about it.

Not all of the pictures showed the spotted leaves, but several of them did.

Hope that helps.

Carolyn, whose best tomato friend lives in NC as well as two others who do seed production for her as well as her brother.

o Post a Follow-Up