Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brendanh_gw

Hot Weather Tomatoes

brendanh
15 years ago

It's hit the point in Central Texas where we're running highs in the mid 90s every day and lows in the mid 70s, so I find myself looking back at the two dozen tomato plants I put in (this is my first year growing tomatoes) and trying to diagnose what worked and what didn't

I'd put in eight Brandwine plants, and thus far one of them has set one tomato. They've grown huge and look healthy, but the blossoms always turn yellow and fall off after blooming.

I also had a half-dozen Roma plans, and those are doing so well that they're actually still setting new tomatoes. They were very slow to grow at first, and are less than two feet tall, but each Roma plant has at least a half dozen tomatoes growing on it, and the largest has 20.

I also had three cherry tomato plants (not sure the variety, just a standard red cherry I picked up at the nursery) and those have 20+ tomatoes each on them, some of which have already ripened and been eaten. They also seem to still be setting even in the heat.

Finally, I had a Marglobe, a Cherokee Purple and a yellow tomato I don't recall the name of. The Marglobe is undersize, but had set four so far. The yellow one has set one. The Cherokee Purple set three early on which are getting close to ripe, but for the last month all blossoms have fallen off after blossoming.

Overall, I'm a bit disappointed because aside from the Romas I'd mostly put in Brandywines, and they just don't seem to want to set. I'm thinking it may be a climate issue. We have a pretty narrow window between when it becomes hot and sunny during the day (and the tomatoes really start growing well) and when the nights never get below 70. (And this year has been especially bad in that respect.)